How I Stumbled onto 365 Magnificent Names of Christ

Steve Hall | November 12, 2015

image

The deepest desire of my heart the past 25 years has been to know Christ, in my mind and in my heart, all that I possibly can. In Philippians 3, the Apostle Paul declares the same consuming longing of his life: “…that I may know him (Christ)”.

In my quest to know Christ more, I read the amazing quote by Charles Spurgeon:

From every text of Scripture there is a road to Christ.

I was eager to discover for myself how EVERY Scripture passage ultimately leads to Christ, so I began reading the whole Bible with that purpose in mind.

Thrilling Discoveries!

Very soon I began noticing names and attributes of God, titles of biblical characters like King David, or names in prophecies. As I researched those names, I was thrilled to find how one after another of them was fulfilled in Christ! Each name of Christ revealed a unique aspect of His greatness, and caused me to praise Him for that aspect of who He is.

Praising Christ for each unique name usually led me to other Scripture passages that amplified something about that name, or hymns or choruses about that name. Often I was prompted to pray that I would know Him more through that name, and that my family members, other believers, and unsaved people would know Him and give themselves to Him according to that name. I recorded those praises and prayers so that I, and a few friends, could know and love Christ more.

I hadn’t planned to do so, but eventually, after following this process through the whole Bible, I realized I had found 365 names of Christ—one for each day of the year. The Holy Spirit had revealed a grand “portrait” of Christ to me, for which I stand in utter awe.

I was led to write a devotional book about my discoveries. I named the book I Want to Know More of Christ to express the cry of my heart, like King David did in Psalm 42:1-2:

As the hart panteth after the water brooks, so panteth my soul after thee, O God. My soul thirsteth for God, for the living God:…

Your Gift On ChristNow.com
Every devotional entry from the book is featured on the Devotions page of ChristNow.com. I’m blessed to offer it to you as a gift. The devotions are in audio and text format. The page automatically refreshes each day with a new devotion. You can also sign up for a daily reminder to visit the devotion for the day.

I’m praying with all of my heart that as you read or listen to the daily devotions, you too will be filled with an insatiable longing to know Jesus more, love him more, and be more eager to tell the world about his magnificence!

Leave a Reply

