Is Christianity a paradox?


image

Christianity is a paradox. To live we must die to self.

I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.Galatians 2:20

Power is found in and through our weaknesses.

And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.
Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.
2 Corinthians 12:9-10

My sinful life is exchanged for Jesus’ sinless perfection and furthermore Jesus suffered the penalty for my sinful life when He did nothing wrong.

For he hath made him to be sin for us, who knew no sin; that we might be made the righteousness of God in him.2 Corinthians 5:21

In the book of James, he writes we are to be joyful when trials and difficulties come our way. Our trials are like sandpaper to the 2×4 of our spiritual life. God uses these trials and experiences to smooth out rough edges and show the world how we respond to adversity.

Do we respond by trusting God or becoming angry with Him?

Trials should not surprise us. James says when you experience trials, not if you experience trials.

My brethren, count it all joy when ye fall into divers temptations;
Knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience.
But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing.
James 1:2-4

These trials in fact are for our good and for our growth. So if you are a young Christian you will go through trials sometimes. Yet, God will be and is with you and and will strengthen, help and uphold you.

Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.
Isaiah 41:10

Remember, God has your best in mind.

And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.
Romans 8:28

God be with you all


2 responses to “Is Christianity a paradox?”

  1. Paradox???? Hmmm…The definition of “Paradox ” is :a statement or proposition that, despite sound (or apparently sound) reasoning from acceptable premises, leads to a conclusion that seems senseless, logically unacceptable, or self-contradictory.’ So, no, Christianity and ALL its tenets are sound! “All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness:….” – 2 Tim. 3:16

    Like

Leave a comment